Kodachrome: A Fond Farewell To A Friend

It’s finally happened… the end of Kodachrome. Okay, Kodak stopped making the film a few years ago. But a small lab in Kansas was the last place in the world that could process the stuff, but this week it’s coming to an end. I’ve had four rolls of the stuff in my fridge for a long while now. I wasn’t too sure what to do with it until a trip to upstate New York for work came up a few months back. So, I decided I would visit Rochester and photograph whats left of the massive Kodak industrial Campus that at its height spanned several square miles. Today many of the buildings have been torn down, sold off to other companies or just left empty. I couldn’t think of a better way to use my last rolls of discontinued and long expired rolls of Kodachrome than to photograph the remains of the place where it came from.

4 responses to “Kodachrome: A Fond Farewell To A Friend

  1. Beautiful images Kris, thank you for sharing.

  2. Ah, nice images! And a sad day for photographers everywhere. I’ve got a few boxes of Kodachrome slides somewhere. Need to get them out.

  3. Beautiful, and very appropriate. Was that the Kodachrome you discovered in that fridge? Scott shot a roll of it over the last few months, and it arrived for developing at Dwayne’s today. I don’t even remember what’s on it. Ah, the surprises of film.

    In other news, I’m home. But don’t worry, I won’t be stealing your clients just yet. Still have that sneaky degree to finish. 🙂

  4. Amazing how times change. How apropos which film you used.

Leave a Reply

