Going Back To Loring

A few years back I made my first Cold War Project related trip up to Maine to photograph the former Loring Air Force Base and some other sites in the area. On my trip, there were a few areas of the base that I couldn’t get access to and others that I was only given a very short time in. So I had always promised myself that at some point I would go back. Late last year I did just that. And thanks to some great folks at the Fish and Wildlife Service, I was able to get access to those areas.

This will be the first of a few posts from Loring. So, let’s start with the conventional weapons storage area. Loring was a major nuclear weapons base, but it also housed a great deal of conventional bombs. A large portion of those bunkers have been bulldozed since the base closed, but there is one area that’s still intact.

001

002

003

004

005

006

 

Leave a Reply

